The CAIP exam has five sections that test knowledge in the following categories:

  • Delivery of Patient Care
  • Infection Prevention Program Development, Implementation and Maintenance
  • Infection Prevention Education and Training
  • Surveillance, Data Collection and Analysis
  • Instrument/Equipment Cleaning, Disinfection and Sterilization


Video – PSI Test Center Experience


More detailed information on each of these topics can be found in the CAIP Content Outline (pdf).

Achieving CAIP certification provides evidence of education, training and competence in infection prevention. It can also support that the ASC infection control program is founded on infection control knowledge and Read More…

Lee Anne Blackwell, RN, BSN, EMBA, CNOR, CAIP

Let’s get started. Download the CAIP candidate handbook today.